Is she a rescue?

I didn’t get Josie from a shelter or the pound. She wasn’t lost or a runaway. I didn’t buy her from a store or breeder. It was simple – I got her from my cousin.

It all started in October 2002. My cousin was gone for two weeks and had asked his parents to keep an eye on all his animals – which included a collection of horses and dogs, including this new puppy he had recently acquired. I’m still not sure where he got Josie, or even how old she was.

The first day my aunt went to go check on the animals, I tagged along – I wanted to see his horses.

There are a lot of people who have no problem leaving dogs outside and tied up 24/7.  I am not one of those people.  So when I spotted this tiny puppy tied with a short rope to a tree I was mad.  Then I spotted the upside down food bowl.  Then I realized my cousin expected her to be this way for 2 weeks.  I was irate.  Luckily, my aunt had similar feelings.  We didn’t leave the property without taking the puppy with us to my aunt’s house to stay for the next 2 weeks.

Josie was (and is) adorable.  She didn’t know exactly what type of dog to be. She is white and brown, but her markings reminded me of a cow.  She had one floppy ear, and one that stood straight up.  One was brown, the other white with brown spots. Her most distinguishing feature, that everyone notices, is her two different color eyes – one brown, one blue. And she was tiny, and quiet, and gentle and just looking for some love.

Josie3.20021020

The first time I met Josie – tied to a tree.

I told my aunt, as we drove this puppy back to her house, if my cousin did not want this dog, I would take her.  We joked (although a part of me was serious) that I should just take her right then and there.  I even thought of making the rope look frayed – like she had chewed herself loose.  But it isn’t in me to steal someone’s dog.  Instead, I just made my statement that I was 100% interested in her.

I live 500 miles away from my cousin, so I wasn’t around when he came home.  But I did travel back that way two months later for Christmas.  I came home with a dog.

This entry was posted in A dog's life, Josie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is she a rescue?

  1. sanseilife says:

    Josie says “Thank you snd I love my great home!” 🐾

    Liked by 1 person

  2. theresa says:

    I remember how excited you were when you talked about bringing Josie home. Josie has always been special to us. No matter what dogs we have had they all seem to end up at your house to play with Josie and Bear.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

