Building something special for the dogs

For years, Josie shared the bed with me at night. And by shared – I mean she took over the queen sized bed. Kinda impressive given her size. In the wintertime, she took it one step further – she would insist on being under the covers. This usually meant she would jump up on the bed and stand over me until I lifted up a corner of the blankets allowing her to bury herself under them. I didn’t mind – she kept me warm.

But a few months back, she stopped making the attempt to get up on the bed. And if she did, she usually sat there and waited for me to pick her up. And once I installed the hardwood floors, she no longer asked to go up. And I figured it was safer for her not to be on the bed – in case jumping off she hurt herself on the new, not-so-soft flooring.

I had thought about building steps or a ramp for her – but I doubted she would use them. Then the idea came to me – a platform for the dog beds that was right next to mine. That way if they want to be on the bed – it is just a couple steps or if they want to be in their beds – it is one step down, but close to me too.

I mulled the idea over in my head for awhile until I had a picture in my head of what I wanted to build. Yesterday, I picked up some lumber and got to work as soon as I got home. It wasn’t long before I had the frame.

The frame

The frame

And then the lower level.

Two levels

Two levels

I decided it was time for Josie and Bear to give me their opinion on it – they seemed bored. I don’t think they understood what I was envisioning.

The dogs are a bit unsure what to think

The dogs are a bit unsure what to think

So they explored the yard while I worked in the garage.

Josie and Bear chilling while I'm busy working

Josie and Bear chilling while I’m busy working

And it wasn’t long before I had it close to functional.

Almost done

Almost done

I brought the dogs over, coaxed them to step onto it. Josie relaxed and started sniffing around and seemed at home.

Josie checking it out

Josie checking it out

The real test was putting it up in the bedroom. It looks like it takes up a lot of room, but once the dog beds were on it, there wasn’t much room to spare.

Setup in the room

Setup in the room

One final test – the dog test. I think they like it.

Bear and Josie approve

Bear and Josie approve

Not sure yet if I’ll stain it, paint it, or cover it in carpet. Until then – blankets work really well.

This entry was posted in Bear, Josie, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Building something special for the dogs

  1. Wow! Very cool! 4 paws up!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The new bed – follow up | Happy Wiggle Butt

  3. This really is impressive!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

