Trying something new

The internet is a glorious place full of all sorts of interesting things to learn and try. While researching how to get Josie to be interested in food, I discovered something tasty I can make for her and Bear that will be delicious as well as nutritious. Bone broth. I know very little about it, but it seemed like something easy and inexpensive to try.

What is it? Slow cooking bones in water, with a splash of vinegar, for at least 24 hours. The longer, the better.

I have’t been stockpiling bones, so I went to the grocery store and found some nice looking beef marrow bones. After work on Friday, I pulled out the slow cooker, put the bones in, added a couple tablespoons of apple cider vinegar and covered with water. I turned the cooker on low and its been there ever since.

If you search the internet, there are tons of variations out there. Since this is my first batch, I’m sticking with keeping it simple.

Part way thru Saturday, I noticed the smell. It smelled like something had died in my house. Turns out – beef bones are stinky. I moved the cooker outside and let it continue working on the deck.

By Saturday evening, after the bones had been simmering for 24 hours, I decided to let the dogs sample it. I used a ladle to scoop out some broth and pour into a mug, using a strainer to keep anything dangerous out of the juicy goodness. After it had cooled, I poured a small portion into a bowl and offered it to Josie.

She loved it.

Bear was curious about all the fuss, so I poured him some as well.

He loved it.

I’ll let the bones simmer until Sunday, which should make for a nice, nutritious treat for the dogs.

Next time, I’ll try chicken – see if it is less stinky.

This entry was posted in A dog's life, Bear, Josie and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying something new

  1. Pingback: Small town shops | Happy Wiggle Butt

Leave a Reply

