The dreaded call

I arrived early to work the Monday following Josie’s passing. My morning routine had changed drastically now that I no longer had to do all the little things for Josie. I pulled into the parking lot, parked the truck and glanced at the clock. Before going inside I had to make the phone call I had been dreading since Saturday night.

“Hello. How can I help you?” the receptionist at Josie’s oncologist’s office answered.

Josie3.20030125“I need to cancel Josie’s next appointment.” I said, my voice cracking.

“Okay – one moment while I look this up. Josie, you said? That is on October 20th? Not a problem.” She sounded cheery. “Do you need to reschedule?”

“No. Josie passed away this weekend.” I said, as the flood of tears came rushing back.

“Oh.” Her voice turning from cheer to sympathy. “I’m so sorry. I’ll let Dr. W know.”

“Thank you.” I said, holding it together a few more minutes to get the words out. The grateful words of a dog owner. “And thank you all, for everything you did for Josie.”

With the call finally over, I sat in my truck composing myself for the long day ahead.

This entry was posted in Cancer, Josie and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The dreaded call

  1. Marcela says:

    I am really sorry for the loss of your Josie. I recently lost my 13 year old pitbull mix and I didn’t think it would be so hard to let her go. My routine, just like yours, drastically changed. You know what? I miss my routine with my Alex just like you miss your routine with your Josie. I don’t know if it will get better for either one of us. I don’t want to say something that I don’t mean. What I do know is that Alex will be forever in my heart and mind. The best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover says:

    My heart goes out to you during this difficult time. Dogs bring us so much joy it is really hard when they pass. Keep your good memories close!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember the days following Mya and then Khia’s passing. Everything was a blur. I constantly felt like I was in a fog. I would sit at my desk completely zoned out. Thinking of you and Bear. ~Samantha

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Admiral says:

      I’m surprised I functioned at work that first week. That Monday was the worst – and having back to back to back meetings where I had to interact with people didn’t help. The second week was better. But every now and then, I’m a bit overwhelmed by how much I miss Josie. I need to channel Bear – he seems fine. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • The hardest part is having normal conversation like everything is okay. It was also striking to see how my life was in complete shambles and everyone else was just carrying on with their lives (how it should be, of course). (((hugs))) Samantha

        Liked by 1 person

        • The Admiral says:

          For the first week I refused to act like everything was normal. I was miserable and I wasn’t going to hide it. I think it took some people by surprise – especially those who had no idea I had just said good bye to a dear friend. I didn’t care though. I did force myself out of that, but it comes back in spurts out of no where. Thank goodness I have Bear to cling to – he is keeping me grounded, just like I’m sure Noodle helps you.

          Liked by 1 person

          • The only time I pretended like everything was okay was in the checkout line at the grocery store or if I was meeting someone for the first time. Noodle, I believe, is the only thing that kept me from going into a Psych Ward (no exaggeration). I became extremely attached to him, almost obsessively so. I remember leaving work in the middle of the day to go home to be with him.

            Like

Leave a Reply

