Winter’s past

I’m from New York.  That means I expect snow in December.  However, I live in Virginia. That means I expect temperatures ranging from 80 to 20 in December.  I’ve adapted.

But I still remember the one December that was awesome. It was 2009. It snowed.

And snowed.

And snowed.

Did I mention, we had snow?

It was awesome.

Josie did not think it was awesome. She acted like she hated the snow (secretly, I think she loved it). It made her wet. And cold. Bear was different – it stuck to him like glue – completely covering him.

IMG_4272

I recall this one particular storm lasting overnight, from Dec 19 through the 20th. I kept watching it accumulate, amazed this was happening in Virginia of all places. By morning, my deck was buried. I was worried it might not hold (not really – I built a strong deck).

IMG_4291

In the morning, I let the dogs out to do their business. Bear wanted nothing to do with the snow. He even found the only patch of grass to be found.

IMG_4298

It wasn’t the only snow we got that year, more on that later. But the pups did get a bit of a break. We went south for Christmas. And as much as the dog’s complained about the snow, they did not want to enjoy the warmer weather. I practically had to bribe Josie to sit still for this Christmas Eve picture:

IMG_4318

She should have enjoyed it more – because that year, once we got back to VA, the snow came back in full force.

This entry was posted in A dog's life, Bear, Josie and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter’s past

Leave a Reply

